UC Davis Home Page

News and Information

Ten elected as fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science

November 26, 2013

Ten faculty members from the University of California, Davis, have been elected in the 2013 class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Exemplifying creativity and breakthrough discovery, their contributions to science and society range from X-ray synchrotrons to plant biology and primate behavior to cancer care. They are among 388 new fellows elected this year by other members of the society for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

The new fellows from UC Davis:

Donald M. Bers, chair of Department of Pharmacology at the UC Davis School of Medicine, is a renowned expert on the intricate physiological factors that regulate cardiac contractions and the identification of treatment targets for correcting abnormal heart rhythms. He was recognized for his innovative approaches in calcium signaling and integrative quantitative analysis that have built the modern framework of regulation of cardiac contractions and electrical activity. His work has dramatically expanded the understanding of heart-muscle dynamics.

John P. Capitanio is a research professor at the Department of Psychology and the California National Primate Research Center, where he has served as associate director. He was recognized for his work on the causes and consequences of individual variation in temperament or "personality" in nonhuman primates, particularly in how behavior and social processes shape and constrain physiological processes.

Stephen P. Cramer, Advanced Light Source Professor, Department of Chemistry, uses powerful beams of X-rays to study molecules vital for life, especially "bioinorganic" enzymes that contain metal atoms in their structure. He has a joint appointment with Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and works with machines such as the Advanced Light Source at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the Spring-8 facility in Japan.

Steven C. Currall, dean and professor, Graduate School of Management, was cited for scholarly analysis of public awareness of new technologies, and for leadership of academic-industry programs to ensure societal benefits of new science and engineering innovations. A behavioral scientist, Currall has conducted research and taught for more than two decades on organizational psychology topics such as innovation, emerging technologies, negotiation and corporate governance. He is lead author of the book: “Organized Innovation: A Blueprint for Renewing America’s Prosperity” (Oxford University Press) due out next year.

Katayoon "Katie" Dehesh, professor of plant biology, was honored for distinguished contributions to the field of stress-induced signaling in plants. She has discovered new sensory pathways that are central to plants' ability to respond to the prevailing environment. Her laboratory is also working on pathways to convert starches into oils that could be used as biofuels.

Fu-Tong Liu, distinguished professor and chair emeritus of the Department of Dermatology, and distinguished research fellow and director of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences at Academia Sinica (Taiwan), was recognized for contributions in multiple scientific disciplines, including allergy, immunology, glycobiology and dermatology, and especially for pioneering the field of the galectin family of mammalian lectins — proteins that regulate cell activities and are implicated in a range of diseases, including cancer, HIV, autoimmune diseases, chronic inflammation and allergic reactions.

Kevin C. Kent Lloyd, professor of surgery for the UC Davis School of Medicine and director of UC Davis’ Mouse Biology Program, was recognized for scientific advances in the development and application of genetically altered mouse models for biomedical research on disease, developmental disorders and behavioral abnormalities. His work ranges from studies of single-gene products to genomewide analysis in knockout mice, and his accomplishments reflect innovations in mouse mutagenesis, embryonic stem cell derivation and manipulation, cryopreservation, and phenotyping.

Professor Julin N. Maloof of the Department of Plant Biology was elected for his discoveries on how plants respond and adapt to their environment, especially light. Light is essential to plant growth, and plants have a complex system of receptors and biochemical pathways that allow them to detect and respond to light. Maloof focuses on the genetic variation in this response system that allows plants to thrive in different light environments such as agricultural fields, forests or deserts.

Frederick J. Meyers, executive associate dean for the UC Davis School of Medicine, executive director of Medical Education and Academic Planning for the University of California, Merced, and professor of internal medicine, was recognized for exemplary leadership in advancing the integration of palliative care into comprehensive cancer care, and for being a national champion of research education and career development. He is a devoted clinician and an innovative researcher who has created numerous programs that continue to serve as national models for compassionate end-of-life care.

James Seiber, professor emeritus of environmental toxicology, has specialized in analytical and environmental chemistry of pesticides and other contaminants. His research involved food chemistry, food safety, and the health benefits of foods. Seiber served on the UC Davis faculty from 1969 to 1992, was founding director of the Center for Environmental Sciences and Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, and director of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Western Regional Research Center in Albany, Calif. He returned to UC Davis in 2009 as interim chair of the Department of Food Science and Technology. He now serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry.

The new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 15, at the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago. They bring the total of UC Davis faculty who are fellows of the AAAS to 150.

Founded in 1848, the association aims to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives that include science policy, international programs, science education and public understanding of science.

About UC Davis

UC Davis is a global community of individuals united to better humanity and our natural world while seeking solutions to some of our most pressing challenges. Located near the California state capital, UC Davis has more than 34,000 students, and the full-time equivalent of 4,100 faculty and other academics and 17,400 staff. The campus has an annual research budget of over $750 million, a comprehensive health system and about two dozen specialized research centers. The university offers interdisciplinary graduate study and 99 undergraduate majors in four colleges and six professional schools.

Media contact(s):

Return to the previous page